Team

our researchers, partners, students & support staff

Experienced

Our team is built to tackle the science, management and communication of coastal conservation. Our strengths are in marine ecology, ecosystem modelling and integrated management.

International

GLOW is truly global in scope. Key partner investigators are working closely with researchers based at Griffith University, Australia to produce and trial the science behind better wetland care.

Diverse

Our diverse team includes scientists with field, lab and management expertise in coastal wetlands all over the world. This includes broad experience across different methods, cultures and ecosystems.

Team members

Hours of Work

Elements

Followers

Research Capacity

GLOW was established at Griffith University, Queensland, Australia in March 2018. Professor Rod Connolly directs GLOW, with Professor Brendan Mackey and Dr Chris Brown providing leadership support to newly recruited research and support personnel.

GLOW has also partnered with a range of trial locations worldwide. This includes direct collaborations with key researchers at each site, and their host institutions. The international, interdisciplinary team will advance research under three themes: Measuring Health, Improving Action, and Engaging Authentically.

The group has previously worked on resilience, connectivity, multiple stressors, planning and biodiversity. Our researchers have:

  • prioritised actions for wetland conservation;
  • predicted impacts of multiple stressors to coastal ecosystems;
  • developed adaptive management frameworks for ecological assets;
  • contributed to global ecosystem assessments for impacts of fisheries;
  • informed international whaling policy; and,
  • led and communicated large research programs.

Researchers

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Professor Rod Connolly

Director | Griffith University, Australia

Estuarine and marine ecologist interested in resilience and connectivity, specialising in measuring and reporting human impacts.

r.connolly@griffith.edu.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Professor Brendan Mackey

Research Leader | Griffith University, Australia

Director of the Griffith Climate Change Response Program, interested in science-based policy formation. Leads GLOW work in Vanuatu.

b.mackey@griffith.edu.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Dr Christina Beulow

Research Fellow | Griffith University, Australia

Quantitative ecologist interested in establishing confidence in coastal ecosystem conservation.

c.buelow@griffith.edu.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Dr Chris Brown

Research Leader | Griffith University, Australia

Marine ecosystem modeller (including multiple stressors). Interested in numbers that shake up the politics of saving nature.

chris.brown@griffith.edu.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Dr Fernanda Adame

Research Fellow | Griffith University, Australia

Studies ecosystem services provided by coastal wetlands, including carbon sequestration and coastal protection, with active projects in Mexico.

f.adame@griffith.edu.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Dr Ryan Pearson

Research Fellow | Griffith University, Australia

Community and population ecologist. Background in sea turtles, isotopes, and broad ecological concepts for management.

r.pearson@griffith.edu.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Dr Michael Sievers

Research Fellow | Griffith University, Australia

Experimental and field biologist with a focus on vertebrate ecology, interested in ecosystem assessment frameworks.

m.sievers@griffith.edu.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Dr Mischa Turschwell

Research Fellow | Griffith University, Australia

Statistical ecologist in spatial modelling. Background in freshwater systems, thermal regimes and Bayesian models.

m.turschwell@griffith.edu.au

Partner Researchers

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Dr Mahua Roy Chowdhury

Research Scholar | University of Calcutta, India

Expert in mangrove growth and ecosystem health, including phytoremediation.

mahuarishra@gmail.com

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Dr Paul Maxwell

Principal Scientist | Healthy Land & Water, Australia

Marine ecologist working on the stability and health of coastal ecosystems.

paul.m@hlw.org.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Dr Anusha Rajkaran

Senior Lecturer | Western Cape, South Africa

Estuarine ecologist studying macrophyte dynamics and coastal management.

arajkaran@uwc.ac.za

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Professor Shing-Yip (Joe) Lee

Professor | Chinese University of Hong Kong

Director of the Simon F S Li Marine Science Laboratory and Chair of the IUCN Mangrove Specialist Group.

joesylee@cuhk.edu.hk

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Dr Ana Sousa

Researcher | University of Aveiro, Portugal

Marine ecologist focused on wetlands dynamics, vulnerability, biodiversity and ecosystem services.

anaisousa@ua.pt

Students

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Dale Bryan-Brown

PhD Candidate | Griffith University, Australia

Marine connectivity and dispersal in habitat-forming species.

dale.bryan-brown@griffithuni.edu.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Alyssa Giffin

PhD Candidate | Griffith University, Australia

Coral-seagrass connections for fisheries and their role in Ecosystem Based Adaptation.

a.giffin@griffith.edu.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Sebastian Lopez-Marcano

PhD Candidate | Griffith University, Australia

Machine learning for wetland conservation: tracking fish abundance and movement.

s.lopez-marcano@griffith.edu.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Laura Griffiths

PhD Candidate | Griffith University, Australia

Managing vulnerable coastal environments for interactions among multiple threats.

laura.griffiths2@griffithuni.edu.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Yota Harada

PhD Candidate | Griffith University, Australia

Food-web consequences of the world’s largest mangrove forest die-off.

yota.harada@griffithuni.edu.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Ellen Ditria

Honours Candidate | Griffith University, Australia

Research Assistant also studying multiple stressors in coastal wetlands.

ellen.ditria@griffithuni.edu.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Kristin Jinks

PhD Candidate | Griffith University, Australia

Valuing seagrass ecosystems of the Great Barrier Reef World Heritage Area – their role in food webs.

kristin.jinks@griffithuni.edu.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Olivia King

PhD Candidate | Griffith University, Australia

Assessing the interactive effects of multiple stressors in coastal ecosystems.

o.king@griffith.edu.au

Support staff

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Eric Jinks

Senior Software Engineer | Griffith University, Australia

Digital tools for conservation management, including machine learning and web-based apps.

e.jinks@griffith.edu.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Dr Tom Rayner

Science Communicator | Griffith University, Australia

Stakeholder engagement, facilitation, comms strategy and digital content.

t.rayner@griffith.edu.au

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Zoë Carey

Research Assistant | Griffith University, Australia

Field, lab and admin support for the GLOW program.

z.carey@griffith.edu.au

Alumni

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Zoë Carnahan

Undergraduate | Griffith University, Australia

Work Integrated Learning placement with GLOW. Now at University of Tasmania.

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Dr Viv Tulloch

Research Fellow | Griffith University, Australia

Conservation decision-maker and modeller interested in how natural and human disturbances affect biodiversity and natural resources. Now at UBC.

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Tyler Hoffman

Research Assistant | Griffith University, Australia

Field, lab and admin support for the GLOW program. Now on other projects.

klsjdajsdhaksjdhasj

Dr Jodie Haig

Research Fellow | Griffith University, Australia

Marine ecologist interested in linking conservation science to policy outcomes. Now at Queensland Government.